Cherbourg

Cherbourg is its surroundings.

 

At the end of the Cotentin peninsula facing the sea, 15 minutes from our guest rooms, Cherbourg offers many activities. This city was and remains a stopover for the biggest ocean liners in the world (Harmony of the Seas, Queen Mary). The largest harbor in the world hosts a commercial, fishing, pleasure and military port. Bathed in the sweetness of the Gulf Stream, the gardens and parks have a great botanical richness thanks to the exotic varieties brought back to the time by sailors and travelers. Cherbourg also regularly hosts major nautical events such as the Figaro race. Below is a non-exhaustive list of the city's centers of interest:

 

  • The city of the sea, a scientific and fun park, devoted to underwater exploration and the discovery of great depths also has a Titanic exhibition.

  • Ferries to England or Ireland.

  • The Ravalet park and castle, superb Renaissance castle in blue schist, restored at the end of the 19th century by René de Tocqueville who also created the landscaped park which frames it with a rotunda greenhouse and water features. The estate, owned by the city of Cherbourg since 1935, covers 18ha.

  • The Italian-style Theater of Cherbourg-Octeville, built on the site of the old grain halls, it has been classified as a Historic Monument since 1984. Work conducted by the architect Charles de Lalande, it is one of the jewels of the last generation of Italian theaters produced in France.

  • The Roule mountain & the Liberation museum. This museum stands proudly at the top of the Roule mountain which overlooks Cherbourg, 117 meters above sea level. It is housed in an old fort from the second empire, occupied by the German army during the second world War.

  • The Thomas Henry Museum. A jewel of the Cherbourg heritage, it brings together an exceptional collection of 300 paintings and sculptures from the 15th to the 19th century.

  • The Emmanuel-Liais museum and park. Nestled in lush greenery in the heart of the park, listed as a remarkable garden, the museum seduces with its delightfully old-fashioned charm. He remained faithful to the spirit of 19th century cabinets of curiosities.

  • The harbor of Cherbourg. Second largest artificial harbor in the world after that of Ras Laffan (Qatar), with an area of ​​approximately 1,500 hectares. It was started in 1783, the central dike was completed in 1853, and it was provided with three forts in 1860 ...

  • The Holy Trinity Basilica, a Gothic religious building is one of the oldest monuments in the city.

 

In the Cotentin

La ville de Cherbourg

Dans le Cotentin

Cherbourg est ses environs.

Au bout de la presqu'île du Cotentin face à la mer à 15 mn de nos chambres d'hôtes, Cherbourg vous propose de nombreuses activitées. Cette ville fut et reste un escale pour les plus grands paquebots du monde (Harmony of the Seas, Queen Mary). La plus grand rade de monde accueille un port de commerce, de pêche, de plaisance et militaire. Baigné par la douceur du Gulf Stream les jardins et parcs disposent d'une grande richesse  botanique  grâce aux variétés exotiques ramenées à l'époque par les marins et les voyageurs. Cherbourg accueille aussi régulièrement de grandes manifestations nautiques comme la course du Figaro. Ci-dessous une liste non exaustive des centres d'interêt de la ville:

  • La cité de la mer, parc scientifique et ludique, consacrée à l'exploration sous-marine et à la découverte des grandes profondeurs dispose aussi d'une exposition Titanic.
     

  •  Les ferries pour l'Angletterre ou l'Irlande.
     

  • Le parc et chateau des ravalet, superbe château Renaissance en schiste bleu, restauré à la fin du XIXème siècle par René de Tocqueville qui créa également le parc paysager qui l'encadre avec une serre à rotonde et des pièces d'eau. Le domaine, propriété de la ville de Cherbourg depuis 1935, s'étend sur 18ha.
     

  • Le Théâtre à l’Italienne de Cherbourg-Octeville, construit sur l’emplacement des anciennes halles à grain, il  est classé Monument historique depuis 1984. Ouvrage conduit par l’architecte Charles de Lalande, il est l’un des fleurons de la dernière génération des théâtres à l’Italienne réalisés en France.
     

  • La montagne du Roule & le musée de la Libération. Ce musé se dresse fièrement au sommet de la montagne du Roule qui domine Cherbourg, à 117 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer. Il est aménagé dans un ancien fort du second empire, occupé par l’armée allemande au cours de la seconde guerre mondiale.
     

  • Le musée Thomas Henry. Fleuron du patrimoine cherbourgeois, il regroupe un ensemble exceptionnel de 300 peintures et sculptures du XVe au XIXe siècle.
     

  • Le musée et parc Emmanuel-Liais. Niché dans un écrin de verdure, au cœur du parc classé jardin remarquable, le muséum séduit par son charme délicieusement suranné. Il est resté fidèle à l’esprit des cabinets de curiosités du XIXe siècle.
     

  • La rade de Cherbourg. Seconde plus grande rade artificielle du monde après celle de Ras Laffan (Qatar), avec une superficie d'environ 1 500 hectares. Elle a été commencée en 1783, la digue centrale a été achevée en 1853, et elle est pourvue de trois forts en 1860...
     

  • La basilique Sainte-Trinité, édifice religieux gothique est  l'un des plus anciens monuments de la ville.

  • Facebook App Icon
  • Trip Advisor App Icon

MANOIR DE SAVIGNY
50700 VALOGNES

Tel: 0684812394
Email : reservation@manoir-de-savigny.com